Staff honours & awards


Our people are highly recognised in their field. Below is a summary of awards and honours our researchers have received. 

NZIER Early Career Economics Leader Award  

The NZIER Early Career Economics Leader Award is given by the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research to recognise and encourage the advancement of economics in Aotearoa New Zealand. 


In 2021, Dr Isabelle Sin was the recipient of the inaugural NZIER Early Career Economics Leader Award.


Many Motu Research fellows have won this award's predecessor - the NZIER Economics Award:

  • 2019 Dr John McDermott
  • 2010 Dr Suzi Kerr
  • 2005 Dr Arthur Grimes
  • 2004 Dr Grant Scobie (previous Motu Trust Chair)

A.R. Bergstrom Prize In Econometrics

This prize rewards the achievement of excellence in econometrics in Aotearoa New Zealand. It is awarded by the New Zealand Association of Economists (NZAE).


Many Motu Research researchers have won this award: 

  • 2021 Livvy Mitchell
  • 2012 Isabelle Sin
  • 2007 Melanie Morton
  • 1994 Dean Hyslop
  • 1994 John McDermott 

Other NZAE prizes

In 2022, Arthur Grimes, Dave Maré and affiliate Stuart Donovan won the 2022 NZ Economic Policy Prize plus the Stata Prize (for excellence in graphics communications). 


Jaimie Monk won the 2022 Jan Whitwell Prize.


Frisch Medal Award


The prestigious Frisch Medal is presented biennially for the best applied (empirical or theoretical) paper published in Econometrica.


Dean Hyslop won the Frisch Medal in 2008 for his work on estimating the effects of a time-limited earnings subsidy for welfare-leavers alongside David Card. 

Seamus Hogan Research Prize

The Seamus Hogan Research Prize is awarded for the best public policy paper written by a student and presented at the annual conference. It is intended as recognition of emerging/early career researchers. The prize is currently $1,000.


Several of our Research Analysts have won this prize:


Other awards

  • Arthur Grimes - Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Waikato (2014)

Motu Research Scholarship winners

Motu awards a number of scholarships to Motu Research Analysts and university students. Read about the scholarships and their past winners.